sick day

some of you might know that about 3 months ago, being the klutz that i am, i tripped up the stairs in ikea after my flip flo-p slid off my foot.   since then i’ve had pain in my foot which the doctor says could be plantars fasciitis.  this just means inflammation in the heel area.  anyhoo, i’ve been waiting for a physio appointment forever and the pain has been coming and going so it has been bearable.  this week, however, i started my college placement in a nursery class and i was on my feet pretty much non-stop monday and  tuesday.  by the end of the day because i was holding my foot funny to ease the pain, it was causing my back to hurt.  i’ve been in pretty much constant pain and not sleeping because of it.  i managed to get a cancellation space with the doctor and he’s given me anti-inflammatory/painkillers and told me to stay off my foot until the medication kicks in.  so i’m having a sick day from placement, which normally i would be happy about, but i actually have a huge assignment to complete this week so i actually had stuff to do.  i’m going to sit for an hour or so and do as much of it as i can at home, but then it’s chill out time.

luckily for me i have a sweet mister who bought me some festive themed chocolate.  i know it’s only the start of autumn but christmas themed candy rules.  i have chocolate wishes which has truffle in the middle, lindor bells (lindor is my favourite chocolate) and a popping candy chocolate elf all to be washed down with some jack frost tea sent all the way from baltimore to me by the lovely april.  jack frost tea is my absolute favourite tea, and i’m a tea fanatic, but this one is a mix of rooibos, vanilla, peppermint and spearmint. soooo good.

the library is right next to my doctor’s surgery and i had books to take back so i popped in and got some recipe books to get inspiration from.  i adore recipes.  i love to cook and am just starting to be a bit more adventurous so i’m gonna get my mouth a watering by looking at these this afternoon. i really wanted sophie dahl’s recipe book again but it was on loan so the ones i took out are:

rachel’s food for living by rachel allen
cook with jamie by jamie oliver (one of only 2 jamie books i don’t own)
river cottage everyday by hugh fearnley-whittingstall
mexican food made simple by thomasina miers (absolutely gorgeous)

after all that i think i’m going to get my blanket and lay on the couch with my foot propped up and spend time in stars hollow with lorelai and rory, the best place to go if you’re feeling sorry for yourself.

and if i have time after that i’m gonna watch jamie’s american revolution and maybe this movie (because it’s one of my favourites)…

i hope you all have a lovely day.

(some images via weheartit)

Leave a Reply

