America The Beautiful

Well I’ve found a word that describes me on urbandictionary.com….

“Americanophile” – A person who loves everything American, sometimes in an obsessive manner.

I have always loved America, I was surrounded by American things as a kid.  My favourite shows were The Muppet Show, Fraggle Rock and my Mum says you couldn’t tear me away from Sesame Street.  As I got older I loved Roseanne, The Cosby Show, and more recently Friends, That 70s Show, My So-Called Life, Dawson’s Creek, Gilmore Girls and Sex And The City.  I grew up reading Judy Blume, Paula Danziger, and the Ramona Quimby and Anastasia Krupnik books before moving onto Babysitters Club, Sweet Valley Twins and High and Point Horror series.  I literally got a lot of my education from American shows, movies and books.  I also got through my fair share of PB&J sandwiches!  As a result I became obsessed with America and all things American.  I was desperate to visit but as my Dad enjoys landscape photography (especially in Scotland) we usually vacationed in the UK.  I got an American penpal at about 14 years old called April who was from Baltimore.  We wrote a lot and at the age of 16 my parents said we could go to the States to either Florida and do the Disney thing or to visit April and her family.  I decided to visit April.  So we headed to Boston, New Hampshire and of course Baltimore.  From the moment I set foot on American soil I knew I’d found the place that I belonged.  I loved seeing the star spangled banner flying outside people’s homes and the cute, painted mailboxes.  I couldn’t believe the choice of cereal  in the grocery stores and the portion sizes you got in restaurants.  It was kind of a thrill for me to take home my leftover food in a box.  As a foodie I became hooked on Taco Bell, Cheesecake Factory, Twizzlers, Toostsie Rolls, Root Beer and of course all the cereal!  My first visit to America was over the 4th of July so I experienced my first Independence Day in Baltimore.  We watched fireworks from Fell’s Point and it was a great day.  I’ve since lived in America and been back a quite few times to various places and even got married in Las Vegas.  I have awesome memories from every trip I’ve had there and it’s the one place in the world I feel completely at home.  I’m Scottish but I feel no connection to Scotland or the UK.  I have dreams of roadtripping and exploring all of the 50 states.  In my heart I’m probably more American than most actual Americans, after all, a lot of Americans can’t name all 50 states off the top of their head in pretty much alphabetical order or name the 50 state capitals.  I know more words of the American national anthem than I do the Scottish or Great Britain ones.  I don’t know what it is about this country that has captured my heart but I’m hooked.  Today is the 4th of July and I’m celebrating America’s birthday with a BBQ and friends so I just want to say Happy 4th of July everyone! 

(images from google and weheartit)

Leave a Reply

