Girl put your records on..

I’ve had a dream for quite a long time that I’ve kept secret, mostly because I always get the impression that friends and family and even the boy think I’m a bit of a dreamer in general.  I do tend to dream a lot and make statements about how I’m going to do this and that and nothing happens and I don’t get taken seriously now.  It actually kinda bothers me.  Yes, I’m a bit airy-fairy and maybe lack a bit of commitment and dedication but one day maybe my dream will come true.  I want to have my own business doing something that I love.  I’m a bit nervous about telling my dream so publicly but that’s what a blog is for right?….Ok here goes….*deep breath*

I don’t think it’s a secret that I have a love of music, movies, books, cooking and all things vintage, I adore anything 70s and anything American.  What if I could come up with a business that would incorporate all of that?  Well I have. Basically I want to own an independent record store something along the lines of Empire Records in the movie of the same name. 

 We would sell new and vintage vinyl, cds and have live music a couple of nights a week.  We would have all the quirky bands that you just can’t find in HMV.  In Baltimore I’ve visited two pretty cool record shops, Sound Garden in Fells Point and Record and Tape Traders in Towson…nothing beats trawling through the records and finding a little gem of an album. After all, finding a band that you love can be like finding a friend.  We would also stock a massive selection of dvds, old movies, random 80s and 90s like Fast Times At Ridgemont High, Bio-Dome and The Last American Virgin.  We would have a roof space where on warm, starry nights we would put up a huge projection screen and show random movies like Adventures In Babysitting, The National Lampoon movies, Love Story, Desperately Seeking Susan and whatever else.  I used to go to the Moonlight Cinema in Sydney and Melbourne it was so cool sitting out under the stars with a blanket and a cool movie on.

 When visiting my friend, April, in Baltimore we went for dinner to Paper Moon Diner which is pretty much the coolest place I’ve ever eaten.  It’s brightly decorated and there are vintage and retro toys everywhere on display.  I would love if my record store had a little counter area that served good easy food with a good vegetarian selection and had old vintage toys and posters on display.

Of course being a bookworm and loving nothing more than wandering around independent new and used book stores, I would have to incorporate a little book section in aswell, with comfy couches to sit on and read.

Of course, my America obsession would have to come into this aswell…so I think I would have to open somewhere cool like Portland, Oregon or somewhere in California or Austin, Texas.

It’s probably never, ever going to happen but a girl can dream right? After all one of my favourite quotes says perfectly why record stores are important to me…

“I always tell the girls never take it seriously, if you never take it seriously you never get hurt, if you never get hurt you always have fun and if you ever get lonely, just go to the record store and visit your friends.”

~Penny Lane “Almost Famous”

(images via google images and weheartit)

Leave a Reply

