Wanderlust Blues

 

Today I have been sick and feeling blue.  I started a new volunteering placement at a local playgroup on Wednesday.  All the kids were running about with snotty noses and sneezing everywhere.  Now I have a sore throat, sore ears, sore head, swollen glands and am just generally feeling sorry for myself.  I’ve been spending my day mostly thinking about getting away.  There is nothing I love more than to plan a trip somewhere, booking it, then devouring a Lonely Planet or Rough Guide to find out quirky places to go when I’m there.  Backpacking is my favourite way to travel.  You have your entire life on your back and you meet the most awesome, free-spirited people.  It’s all about doing things on a budget and completely absorbing the culture of wherever you are.  Sadly, because the boy is studying right now and I’ve been out of work due to surgery on my back and am starting college in August, we have no money to go away this year.  It’s really upsetting as it’s the first year I haven’t had any international trips booked or a trip to America.  However, we are planning something quite epic for next year (which is a secret for the time being) so I will just have to bide my time and in the meantime keep looking at my globe and reading my Lonely Planets in anticipation!  What’s the saying?  Good things come to those who wait?

Top 5 Places I Want To Visit (no order, and basically I want to visit everywhere so this is just a spur of the moment top5)

001  Japan

002  Argentina

003  Roadtrip America (I love America with all my heart, lived there and want to see every little bit of it)

004  Morocco

005  Paris

(images via weheartit.com)

One response to “Wanderlust Blues

  1. I really hope that we can manage to coordinate and do an American Roadtrip together!
    I’ve been back 2 days and I’m ready to be gone again! Vegas in October/November is my next plan.

Leave a Reply

