“Welcome to the maxi pad!”

In my last blog I expressed my love for the movie Almost Famous and I said it was tied with another movie for first place in my top movies of all time.  Well, that other movie is Reality Bites.

I first heard about this  movie before it came out in 1994 when a friend of mine was given a cd sampler of the movie soundtrack.  By listening to that, I knew I had to see it.  I never managed to see it at the movies but as soon as it was released on video I rented it over a weekend.  I was hooked from my first viewing.  In fact, I think I watched it about 4 times that weekend.  I got it out again the following weekend and the weekend after and along the way my friends Niki, Kirsty and Lesley became hooked also.  I think for about 2 years one of us had it rented nearly every weekend and we would watch it with cans of Diet Coke, Doritos and dip.  It was a ritual.  I don’t think it actually dawned on any of us to buy it instead of renting it over and over!  I eventually bought it on video and then DVD and still watch it at least once a month.

I can’t explain what it is about this movie that I love so much as there isn’t exactly a gripping storyline.  What it does have are identifiable characters, my favourite being Vickie, and quotable lines a-plenty.  It captures the 90s perfectly!  I think my friends and I could probably recite this movies backwards and we often still say random quotes from it to each other.  To me, Reality Bites is like an old friend.  I don’t have to pay full attention to it and sometimes I just put it on in the background while I’m doing stuff.   I also own the soundtrack and still after 16 years  I love it and listen to it often.

Top 5 Reality Bites Quotes (so hard to choose, I could’ve done a top 25!)

001  “Why don’t you get a job at the Burgerama? They’ll hire you! My Lord, I saw on the TV they had this little retarded boy working the cash register.”

002  “I’m manager of the Gap.  I’m responsible for all those t-shirts.  French-cut, v-necked, ribbed, what have you.  Dude I’m in trouble.”

003  “Oh. PFLAG.  I’m beginning to like the sound of that.”

004  “I’m late for a jean-folding seminar.  Let’s locomote.”

005  “You look like a doily!”

My friend Kirsty had her birthday at the weekend.  She was one of the original Reality Bites gang and I thought to honour those times, I would make her a Reality Bites birthday card.  It turned out cooler than I expected and I was so proud of it, I swithered over changing the KIRSTY to LISA and keeping it for myself!  Anyway, I’ll leave you with a couple of photos of the finished product.  Please watch this movie if you haven’t already done so.  If you hate it, don’t blame me….maybe you had to grow up watching it!            

The Front

The Inside

*images from Reality Bites from weheartit*

 

Leave a Reply

