“It’s all happening”

Almost Famous is one of my all-time favourite movies, definitely in my Top 3, it’s a tie between that and Reality Bites for Number 1.  I went to see it at the movies and was just lost in it.  I guess it’s no secret that I’m obsessed with the late 60s and 70s.  I often desperately wish someone would make a Doc Brown style Delorean time machine so that I could go back and live in that time period.  I love everything about that era, the music, the clothes, the fact young people stood up for what they believed in and women stood up for gender equality. It all just seemed so free.  People were free to wear what they wanted, do want they wanted, believe what they wanted, express who they were in whatever way they wanted and just be.  I’m pretty sure I would have protested war with the best of them and probably would’ve lived in a commune.  It must have been amazing to be a part of, what was, an incredible time for music.  I would have loved to see Janis Joplin, The Band or Led Zeppelin back in the early days and gone to Woodstock.  For me, Almost Famous captures the essence of that era.  What I wouldn’t give to be Penny Lane, not for the groupie “band-aid” aspect per se, but to be so in love with a band and fortunate enough to be able to tour with them and inspire music.  It must have been magical.

My favourite quote from the movie

  I’m known as being a bit of a dreamer and I’m sure I romanticise the idea of hippie in my head a bit too much but I guess in my own way that’s what I am.  The dictionary definition of hippie is….

“A person who opposes and rejects many of the conventional standards and customs of society, especially one who advocates extreme liberalism in sociopolitical attitudes and lifestyles.”

This is me.  I don’t crave the idea of settling down in one place with a 9-5 job and furniture just like everyone else from Ikea and cushions and bedding from Next Home.  To be perfectly honest, the idea of that scares me and I feel trapped just thinking about it.  I want to travel the world and live in different places experiencing different cultures.  I can’t stand cookie cutter houses.  I like individuality and creativity.  I believe in total equality for everyone no matter what your gender, sexuality, religion, ethnicity.  I often get called weird or get funny looks when I express my ideas but I don’t care. The hippies fought for the right to be who you wanted to be and I won’t change who I am for anyone.   

Hippie Wedding

 

(images via weheartit.com)

Leave a Reply

