Beautiful People ~ Winona Ryder

Back when I was about 10 or 11, I became a huge fan of Winona Ryder.  She was the first female star I’d ever looked up to.  I thought she was beautiful, quirky, had awesome cropped hair and best of all, she was dating Johnny Depp!  I was in love with Johnny Depp.  I had an entire wall in my room devoted to him and I really thought that one day I might become Mrs Depp!  But I thought if I couldn’t have him then I was glad he was with someone as cool as Winona.  He even had a tattoo in her honour stating “Winona Forever”.  I thought that was the most romantic thing, ever!

Winona Laura Horowitz was born in 1971 in Minnesota, USA.  She was named after the nearby town of Winona and later chose the surname Ryder after listening to a Mitch Ryder record that belonged to her Dad.  She grew up with hippie parents and when she was 7 the family joined a commune called Rainbow in Elk, California.  The commune didn’t have a tv but she used to watch movies in the barn with her Mom which inspired her love for acting.  Her first movie was ‘Lucas’ in 1986 and since then she has starred in a ton of awesome movies; ‘Beetlejuice’, ‘Mermaids’, ‘Edward Scissorhands’, ‘Little Women’, ‘Reality Bites’, Girl, Interrupted’ and ‘Heathers’ to name a few.  More recently, she has been in the press after a well documented arrest for shoplifting and sadly the relationship with Johnny ended and the tattoo now reads “Wino Forever”.  Personally, I don’t care about the bad stuff written about her, her arrest, the fact that her career has pretty much come to a standstill, I will always think of her as someone who I admired and helped form my teenage years in some way.

Winona with Cher in Mermaids

Winona with Johnny Depp in Edward Scissorhands

Winona with Ethan Hawke in Reality Bites

It’s pretty hard to choose but my top 5 Winona Ryder movies are…

1. Reality Bites

2. Edward Scissorhands

3. Mermaids

4. Little Women

5. Girl, Interrupted

One response to “Beautiful People ~ Winona Ryder

Leave a Reply

